---
title: "Automatically move breakout room participants back to the original meeting"
canonical: "https://help.nnu.edu/space/TMR/blog/2509078/Automatically%20move%20breakout%20room%20participants%20back%20to%20the%20original%20meeting"
format: markdown
---
### What’s changing

Google is introducing several improvements for breakout rooms in Google Meet. These improvements include:

- The ability for meeting hosts and co-hosts to automatically move participants back to the main meeting room once breakout rooms end.
- Better visual indicators for breakout room participants to indicate this movement.

See below for more information.

  


![image](media://1fa3cf7e-67be-41c1-a34c-38706b645fc9)

  


Breakout room participants will see a banner with a countdown indicating when they’ll be moved back to the main meeting room. 

  


![image](media://cf7dc352-bdd2-4f6c-80ee-fd1369e8ec37)

Google added better indicators confirming participants have been moved back to the main meeting room. Additionally, cameras and microphones will be turned off when participants are automatically moved back into the main meeting — participants can re-enable them once they’re ready.

![image](media://fb716e28-ecbd-451a-addd-0370da084539)