---
title: "Prevent unwanted invitations from being added to your calendar"
canonical: "https://help.nnu.edu/space/TMR/blog/2509048/Prevent%20unwanted%20invitations%20from%20being%20added%20to%20your%20calendar"
format: markdown
---
Google has improved the "Automatically add invitations" setting to help prevent unwanted invitations from being added to your calendar. You can now choose to either: 

- **Always have invitations automatically added **
- **Only have them automatically added if you have RSVP’d in the email event invitation.**

![image](media://577010df-6db5-43ed-af39-f6ad23e29b37)

### **Why it Matters**

These additional controls can help you manage your calendar with less manual work by ensuring unwanted events don't appear, and you see only the events that are important to you. 

### Additional details

- If you choose to only have events added if you RSVP, you’ll see an additional option to allow those who have permission to view or edit your events to see all invitations.
- When you change the setting, it only determines whether future events are added to your calendar. Any events that are already on the calendar will remain visible unless you delete them.
- If you choose to only add events when you RSVP, you’ll receive an email invitation to all events, even if the organizer chooses not to send one. This will help prevent you from missing events. Note that this doesn’t apply to updates, only to invitations.
- We've moved the notification option ("Yes, but only notify me if I've responded Yes or Maybe") into the notifications section to help you better manage when you get notifications.